Te Tumu Regional Info


Tauranga City and the Western Bay of Plenty

  • Driving Times
    • Auckland - 2.5 - 3.0 hours / 206km
      Hamilton – 1.25 hours / 106km
      Rotorua – 1.0 hour / 86km
  • Flying Times
    • Auckland – 35min
      Wellington – 1.10 Hours

The Region

Bay of Plenty Region


The Bay of Plenty is on the east coast of the North Island of New Zealand. The region takes in the full sweep of the coastline from Lottin Point in the east, to Waihi Beach in the west.  On the landward side, the region is mostly bound by the watersheds of the catchments flowing into the Bay of Plenty. This includes the lakes in the Rotorua district. On the ocean side, the region includes 18 offshore islands extending out to the 12 nautical mile boundary.  The area of the region is 21,836 square kilometres comprising 12,253 square kilometres of land and 9,583 square kilometres of coastal marine area.  Western Bay of Plenty Sub-Region is the Economic Centre of the Region.  Tauranga City is the largest city in the region.



  • Regional Council –  Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Local Government (Western Bay of Plenty):
    • Tauranga City Council
    • Western Bay of Plenty District Council

Papamoa East Part 2 (Te Tumu) - Land Holdings

Site and Scale

760 hectares / 1878 acres (6km by 2km)



Te Tumu Landowners Group


  • Comprises of the Three Main Landowners in the Papamoa East – Te Tumu Area
  • OBJECTIVE:  To Respond to the SmartGrowth Strategy and Address Infrastructure, Land Use Planning & Integration


Building our futures together

17th August, 2016

  • New package of urban growth areas to keep steady supply of housing
  • OBJECTIVE: A package of four new urban development projects in the western Bay of Plenty, approved by a joint SmartGrowth committee.



ford history lower kaituna, lower kaituna, kaituna river, te tumu history, lower kaituna history, historical kaituna, kaituna river developments, land development lower kaituna, land developments on the kaituna river, ford family history new zealand, lower kaituna river new zealand